Stop worrying about the news

I’m fed up of worrying about the world, so I’m trying a new experiment.

I’ve decided to not watch TV, the news or reading any newspapers. It’s quite an experiment because I would say that I’m quite addicted to the news. But does it do me any good?

I get up with the morning news, I read a newspaper everyday, I buy some of those gossip magazines, I don’t know why I do? It’s a slight addiction, because I think I need to know what diet Jennifer Anniston’s on, but I really don’t need this info, I really think this is filling my mind with crap and I should be thinking about more serious matters.

But I persevere with this whole concept of being news free, and even after a few days I notice a difference, quite a big difference, I wake up feeling different. I say to myself “I feel clear”.

After six weeks, I feel fantastic! Instead of waking up thinking about the state of the world, or some news story that has haunted me, I feel happy, clear and free of all troubles.

Why have I been tormenting myself for so long listening to this junk, when in fact, I have absolutely no control over world affairs and all those continuing pointless wars… That’s another story. A story we should all get involved in. I’m thinking, everybody, stop thinking about pop idol and start thinking about why the fcuk we’re still going to war and killing??

Anyway, I’ve been seriously inspired by an article I read in the Guardian and subsequently the book I bought by Rolf Dobelli “The Art of Thinking Clearly”.

His article, “Why you shouldn’t read the news” Here’s some words from a wise man…

News is toxic to your body. It constantly triggers the limbic system. Panicky stories spur the release of cascades of glucocorticoid (cortisol). This deregulates your immune system and inhibits the release of growth hormones. In other words, your body finds itself in a state of chronic stress. High glucocorticoid levels cause impaired digestion, lack of growth (cell, hair, bone), nervousness and susceptibility to infections. The other potential side-effects include fear, aggression, tunnel-vision and desensitization.

News makes us passive. News stories are overwhelmingly about things you cannot influence. The daily repetition of news about things we can’t act upon makes us passive. It grinds us down until we adopt a worldview that is pessimistic, desensitised, sarcastic and fatalistic. The scientific term is “learned helplessness”. It’s a bit of a stretch, but I would not be surprised if news consumption, at least partially contributes to the widespread disease of depression.

That’s why I feel so much better. No news is good news!  I challenge you to try it! Because it’s worked for me, I feel so relaxed about life now. I don’t pollute my mind with fear, and I don’t need the “control yr mind with fear” media anymore. Look it up. Programming. TV = control the mind and influence the people.

Leave a comment